Episode 10: Railroad Tycoon

Can’t believe that we’re making it to 10th episode! I want to say a huge thank-you to everyone who’s been very kind in supporting the series. It’s been fun!

For this special occasion we’re covering my current favorite game: Railroad Tycoon. Railroad Tycoon is a train / pickup-and-deliver game designed by Martin Wallace and Glenn Drover that came out in 2005. It’s a reimplementation of Wallace’s other game, Age of Steam. Compared to complex Age of Steam, Railroad Tycoon is aimed to the family market and thus simpler.

In this review we’ll cover the details a little more than usual. As usual, we’ll go over the components, gameplay, and wrap it up with my overall thoughts of the game. Enjoy!

You can download the episode here: Archive.org

And finally, some pictures:

11 Responses to “Episode 10: Railroad Tycoon”

  1. Dean Gardiner Says:

    Great review. I have never been fond of board games based on video games. They remind me of books based on movies. But your review intrigued me. So….I just got the “international” version of the game (Italian) and we’re having a great time. It’s massive in scale (large pieces, large map, long play time…but everthing fits together nicely…as you described. Thanks for the review. I look forward to see more episodes of Basement Boardgamer

  2. Wow! 10 episodes!

    I have enjoyed all your reviews and I commend you on this one. I am very tempted with this review to get the game. I like the fact it appears to be a really good balance of Euro-type building but a few luck mechanisms thrown in to change the flavour of the course of the game. I have a copy of AH’s “Rail Barons”. It is way too based on lucky dice rolls to shut out other players. Railroad Tychoon looks more like the type of railway game I would go for. Transport networking plus astute economic planning without the snake and ladders dice rolls.

    Congratulations Farid!

  3. Thanks 4 all the video reviews so far. It’s a great way to get a handle on a game without buying or playing it.

  4. I love your review!! It is sincere and clean. One of the best video reviews i have seen. I have finished watching all your reviews ever since i discovered your website.

    A minor suggestion from me is that i think it would be better if you can refer to the board more often during the review, so that it is easier to grasp some of the game play concept you mention verbally.

    Anyway thank you very much for your effort and i look forward to your next review!

  5. Great podcast- hope to see many more!

  6. I like your reviews! I just bought both Railways of the World (remake of Railroad Tycoon) and Wasabi!

    It’s a shame that you haven’t done these reviews anymore…

  7. Excellent review! just finished your hole series and got interested in two or three games. Really good reviews, is a shame you aren’t doing it anymore.

  8. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am
    having difficulties with your RSS. I don’t know
    the reason why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS problems?
    Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  9. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  10. Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some
    time and actual effort to produce a very good article… but what can I say… I put things off a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

Leave a Reply

